NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation – Siberia

I’m not going to kid any potential readers right now, this foundation has one of the worst reputations within the beauty industry. In fact, if I’m remembering correctly, it was the most returned product in Sephora history.

 

This goop is basically a coloured water that turns to powder within seconds of the initial application. It’s not weightless, nor particularly luminous, and considerably expensive when compared to other high end products similar to it. So, my question is, why do I keep reaching for it?

 

I have a soft spot for foundations – they’re my favourite product to test and try out – and I am very very picky about which ones I keep. Not that I return them, I just pass them off to someone who perhaps wouldn’t have splurged and would most likely make the product work to a slightly higher standard than it had on myself. My point is, is that this product should have been long gone from my stash six months ago, but it’s still hanging in there.

Why? For one, it’s probably because NARS is one of those rare brands that manage to make their colour selection broad enough to fit my pale skin. In fact it’s the only brand I’ve found that comes close (and believe me when I say I have tried everything). Although, I should mention that there is quite a considerable difference between the Sheer Glow and this foundation in case you had tried the first like myself before picking up the Luminous Weightless stuff. Their Sheer Glow foundation is much more balanced in terms of the pink and yellow undertones with the shade Siberia, whereas you can expect a purely yellow based shade of Siberia with this one. I can typically make it work with my skin tone, but it does require a teensy bit more effort.

Another reason I think I am still reaching for this foundation is the coverage – it’s outstanding. If you can put aside the powdery finish, then you will find that no matter how many layers you apply, they will look almost identical to the first.

 

I should also note that even though it looks considerably powdery before it has been set, that you really REALLY should not neglect to powder your face. I think it has something to do with the watery consistency of this product but it will settle in to any fine lines it can find unless you really stick it down. The transfer this product has when it’s not properly set is crazy too. One dab with a tissue and you’ll be missing a patch of your face. If you’ve got a decent setting spray I can’t recommend using it with this foundation enough!

 

Look, this foundation really is below par in my opinion. For every day use I find it heavy and cakey, and is really not an affordable product either.

HOWEVER, if you do happen to have a bottle of this stuff on you, the best use I can recommend it for is for makeup photos. The powdery finish will actually help you out in terms of keeping flash-back away, and it really does allow for a flawless base for the rest of your makeup to stick on. This is how I use it, and for that one particular use I think it does a decent job. I would not wear it outside, nor would I wear it more than absolutely necessary, but for the off occasion when your portfolio needs a bit of a boost, then give this guy a go.

 

Like I always mention, thank you a bunch for taking the time to read what I have to say. Don’t be a ghost, let me know you’re here!

Chao!

Leave a Reply

